Actually written Sunday, 1/28/07, but posted when I got around to it. More later :).
Disclaimer: This email is for my first impressions of my new city. I have a lot of them. This email will be a long one. Those of you who were unwillingly subjected to my travel emails of 2 years ago from Australia have, I hope, developed either an immunity to them, or at least some coping mechanisms. As for the rest of you… I’ve tried to make it entertaining. We’ll see what happens…
We arrived late last night in Petersburg, after a long flight on Rossia airlines, in a plane that was not exactly new and was decorated with gold and emerald green zebra stripes. We are staying in the Hotel Rus’, which is right off Nevskj Prospekt, the Champs Elyssie of Petersburg, although the hotel appears to have been the unfortunate victim of a gang war between the 1960s and the Jetsons. I have a roommate, Natasha, who is on the program with us but wasn’t able to make it to orientation. So far she and I have been getting along very well. Our room is quite comfortable, despite the late ‘70s office-style decoration (not to mention the Soviet-era wood-paneled conference room in which we had our orientation this morning…).
In fact the appearance of the whole city seems to be in the midst of a bit of an identity crisis; not between the 1960s and the Jetsons, but rather Russia’s epic battle between the West and Russia’s own traditions. Much of Petersburg is exactly what I expected - broad, snow-covered avenues bordered by pastel-colored and ornately decorated stately buildings in the distinctly French-Dutch-Italian style of Peter’s city. insert historical note But neon lights and flashing signs bearing strange Russianizations of American culture are pervasive; e.g. Карлс Джунер (Karls Djunier: Carl’s Junior) and Чикенбергер (Chikenberger: Chicken Burger).
So this afternoon, after a brief orientation meeting, some members of the group went on an expedition to get some American dollars with which to pay our host families tomorrow. We went to several ATMs, none of which had dollars. We then found a bank and decided to ask them. Here’s the exciting part: I asked them. Then they answered. Then I asked a follow-up question. They then answered my follow-up question. Then I said thank-you. IN RUSSIAN. Then on to the next bank – same thing. And finally, on the third bank, my efforts succeeded not only in having a conversation, but in obtaining money. Woot! Similar experiences occurred throughout the evening – I purchased time at an internet café IN RUSSIAN and purchased some water and snacks at a grocery store not only IN RUSSIAN, but also at the mercy of the kassa system. insert касса note
So on my first day in Petersburg, I successfully spoke Russian with Russians to get what I wanted! It feels fantastic! And I’ve got to say, I feel really proud of myself. I expected that the first week or so, at least, I would be really shy and try and get other people to ask questions and buy things, etc., but I just went for it and was met with moderate success. So I think I get a gold star for today. It’s amazing to me that all of the symbols, words and phrases I learned while sitting at a seminar table with a bunch of other Americans in Swarthmore, PA actually has meaning to a bunch of people in another country. It just sort of seems like a sort of leap of faith to be able to go to a country in which you have no experience whatsoever and expect to be able to communicate with people. It’s a pretty cool world we live in, I guess! (They told us during orientation that culture shock usually begins with a “honeymoon period” followed by reality hitting and a person’s getting really depressed, then moderately happy, then moderately depressed, and continuing on until said person is just sort of content and settled. Any guesses as to my stage?)
Later in the afternoon we took a bus tour of the city. The tour guide gave the whole tour in Russian, so while I understood basically what we were looking at and how it came into existence, there were probably a bunch of nifty factoids that I would usually be more than happy to share, but of which I am sadly completely unaware. But this tour was where it finally sunk in that I’m actually in Russia. You’d think that the Soviet hotel and the Russian speaking and the cold shower would have clued me in, but I hadn’t really stopped to think about it. But then we were driving down Nevskij and I caught sight of an orthodox Russian-style cathedral. As we approached it, I saw its onion domes, bright colors, icons… the whole nine yards. I sat there and looked at the cathedral, and at the fur-clad pink-cheeked passers-by, and all of a sudden it hit me. I’m in Russia. The same Russia that was ruled by tsars for hundreds of years. The same Russia whose music was created by Tchaikovsky, Rachmaninoff, Stravinsky and Prokofiev. The same Russia with the rich folk culture I’ve been learning about for so long – with their superstitions, folk music, and fairy tales. The same Russia that Tolstoy, Dostoevsky, Chekhov and Pushkin wrote about. For that matter, the same Russia where Raskolnikov and my beloved Pierre Bezuhov found their redemption, and where Levin mowed his fields. (Explanatory note: Raskolnikov is the main character of Dostoevsky’s Crime and Punishment, in which he kills a pawnbroker then mopes around the city whining about it for 600 pages. Levin is the only well-balanced character in Anna Karenina, and he mows his fields with his peasants for a good 40 pages or so, which turns out to be quite a meaningful and redemptive experience. And finally, Pierre is my absolute favorite character in all of the literature I have ever read or probably ever will read – in War and Peace he bumbles around for about 1300 pages before he finds free will and meaning, takes control of his life, and becomes a strong and dignified human being.)
So yes, I am in fact in Russia. On a much less self-absorbed and awed note, there are two observations that I would like to make at this juncture. First, you CAN NOT escape techno-ish dance music at every turn. In lobbies, in restaurants, in stores, in elevators… it’s like a dance party all the time. On the one hand it’s rather distracting, on the other I feel extremely hip.
My second observation has to do with boots and their proper usage. In Oregon, if you tuck your jeans into your boots it means you’re off to feed the pigs or milk to cows or ride a horse or something. On the East Coast, tucking your jeans into your boots means that you want to look cool and European. As I desire to send neither of those messages, I always wear my jeans outside of my boots. In Russia, however, wearing your boots with the jeans tucked in means simply that you don’t want to be a total idiot and have to wear three different pairs of pants in one day because you spent all afternoon traipsing around the city getting your pants totally soaked in the three inches of brown, slimy, disgusting snow-dirt-mud-slush that makes its home on every sidewalk, street, and staircase. I learned that this is the meaning of such a fashion statement in Russia today. I learned this lesson the hard way. I hereby vow to wear my jeans inside my boots at all times.
Okay, that’s all for now. Tomorrow we move in with our host families, and Tuesday we take a language placement test in preparation for language classes starting Wednesday. We will have two weeks of the language intensive before regular classes start. I hope all is well with all of you! I’d love to hear how everything is going back home.
Love,
Annie